Avnet Electronics Marketing - Community Forum

Avnet Inc.  |  Avnet Electronics Marketing

Visitor
aobeid

Virtex 5 Mini Module - USB Interface Host/Peripheral

Hi all

I've been recently experimenting with the USB Interface on Virtex-5 Mini Module XC5VFX70T.

Using ChipScope, I'm monitoring the interface signals (Next, Stop, DataDirection, Data) while connecting to a PC and in another case a USB Peripheral.

I'm fairly new to USB interface programming on FPGA.

Question:

- Could you please explain why I'm getting the same readings in both cases?

- Could you please point-out any reading material? (not for USB Protocol, but for XC5VFX70T application notes or white papers)

I don't require a core to implement USB stack, rather just to be able to monitor the difference when connecting to Host/Peripheral.

Any feedback is appreciated!

Best Regards

Ahmad Obeid

Please use plain text.
Avnet Employee (Star Contributor)
npoureh

Re: Virtex 5 Mini Module - USB Interface Host/Peripheral

The USB example design provided for this module on our web site supports Peripheral only (we  do not have a host example design). All Virtex-5 documentation can be found on Xilinx web site at http://www.xilinx.com/support/index.html/content/xilinx/en/supportNav/silicon_devices/fpga/virtex-5....

Please use plain text.
Visitor
aobeid

[ Edited ]

Hi Nasser

Thanks for your reply.

I've previously accessed these documents and example designs. As for the example design, it includes a ready made core that acts as a peripheral as you've mentioned.

Based on ChipScope readings, the Data Direction(DIR) signal of the USB interface is high whether I connect to a host(PC) or a peripheral(USB Stick). And in both cases, Data is x"00".

Question:

- Shouldn't there be a difference between the two connections?

Best Regards

Ahmad Obeid

Please use plain text.
npoureh